Ink Worthy

inks02

Ah, covered with ink!  I have to say that I love the photos friends post of their hands when they’ve been working on an art piece. That said, I HATE having ink all over my hands, only for the reason that I can never get it to wash off!! I’ve now washed my hands about 5 times and the palm of that hand is still dark green.

I really love spray inks, but unfortunately, my wallet doesn’t like me to buy them. They’re expensive – about $5 a bottle.  Luckily for me, I already have the stamp pads and inks, so I decided to make my own sprays.

inks03

The little bottles I’m holding are ink pad “re-inker” bottles.  They are used to re-moisten a stamp pad after it’s been used a while.  FYI – if you buy these to match your stamp pads when you get them, the stamp pad will last you forever!  On the right is a bottle of the Adriondak  color wash spray. I bought this about 10 years ago and the price tag on the bottle is $5.99.  The bottles now are half the size.  In the background, you can see a few of the bottles of spray in that I made today.

These were SO simple!  I found the empty spray bottles on eBay – $9.80 including shipping for TWELVE spray bottles! Wow!  I filled the bottles about 1/2 full with water, then added a good dose of ink (maybe a tablespoon), put the spray top on and shook it up. That’s it!

inks01

I started using them right away with different stencils and paper types. As you can tell from the scrap blotter on my table, the colors turned out great! The paper towel shows how vibrant they will be in a journal or using the heat tool to dry instead of blotting them (like the paper underneath.)  I figure each bottle cost a maximum of $1.50 for me to make – and that includes the cost of the empty REUSEABLE spray bottle!

Color me happy! 🙂

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

