Skeletons in my Closet

Fun art!!

Today I finally dove in to my Andy Skinner ‘Outcasts’ video class. Talk about easy and fun! Andy makes these awesome molds and plaster castings that look like old relics or fossils when they’re finished. For the class, he teaches start to finish techniques from making your own molds and designs, to paint secrets to make things look ancient.

I began today by making a casting that will become the cover of a treasure box. I will have to let it dry a bit more, then in a couple days I can start the shading. This is how t looks right now.

front views skulls full

Since I had extra plaster, I decided to use molds I’ve made in the past to create a few pieces to finish and use in other art:

faces

I started with these great faces. They are really pretty on fabric pieces surrounded with sewn seed beads. fronts

Next were these torsos.  They’ve always been favorites of mine. bodies

Finally – miscellaneous body parts.  What to do with them?  I’ll figure that out later.

Overall, I really enjoyed today’s studio time.  I think I may take the time for a different theme tomorrow and see what I’ve learned on day one!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

