Swap This

Oh, bad, bad, bad Facebook! What an instigator.

I have many artistic friends on Facebook. Someone posted a link yesterday to a swap they’re in. It’s an annual Inspirational ATC Deck swap. I’ve done swaps for well over 15 years.. hosted… participated… yet, they can become stressful and expensive depending on the arrangement, the organization of the hostess, and the players.

I probably haven’t been part of an art swap for over a year. Still, I saw this swap and I couldn’t resist it!  You can find more information about it here if you want to play: http://www.insearchofdessert.com/?p=8428

Today, I went to work on my backgrounds. I went with 140# watercolor paper, and decided on doing a full sheet of it, then cutting it apart for the individual cards. Would you like to watch it unfold?  Enjoy~!

I began with the large sheet of watercolor paper, and different types of scrapbook and book papers. I pre-tore them to make the task quick and easy.

Using Matte Medium and a large paintbrush, I began adding layers of the torn papers one at a time, making sure to overlap here and there, and covering the entire sheet.

Adding a 2nd color/layer of paper.

And a 3rd…

At this point, I began adding text. I used pages from old books, and text scrapbooking paper. I also put the text in multiple directions. Upright, sideways, and upside down.

For a final layer of paper, I finished up with an additional blue. The paper I used also had bits of glitter and raised areas of texture. That will pick up the paint in the next steps.

After the paper was dry, I used a dry brush with first white paint, then a robin’s egg blue to skim over the top, muting the sharp contrasting colors to something much softer.

For the final touches, I stamped with paint over the paper using a large music theme rubberstamp. The last bits were a few shots of gold spray webbing. This pulled everything together and made it look uniform.

Once dry, I found the easiest way to cut my background into ATCs was to use my fabric cutting mat, ruler, and rotary blade. I had enough paper to cut out 56 ATC backgrounds, and remaining paper large enough for me to use for journal book covers!

Ready to go 🙂    I will be adding art, quotes, and edging each of these cards to be sent in for the Inspirational Card Deck Swap, and receiving cards back from 51 other artists! Now I can’t wait for 2013.

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swap This

  1. What a beautiful background!
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. coleenfranks says:

    Enjoyed reading your process, Connie. They make such lovely papers.
    Coleen in Ukraine

Leave a Reply

