What’s in a Dream?

The newest art project had me a bit torn. The idea was to create a house for your dreams (easy), write them on the back (simple), then let it fly away with a balloon, hide it, burn it, throw it away, whatever (crazy!)

I had a hard time grasping that concept. Why would I possibly “throw away” my dreams!?! Well, I wasn’t really getting the point.

I noticed as I wrote down my dreams on the back of that house, that most were the same that I’ve had for years. Some are ones we work at our whole lives… others are pipe dreams. The point, is that we shouldn’t spend so much time thinking about our dreams for the future that we stop noticing the wonderous beauty of TODAY!

By the time I finished writing on the back, I felt a bit of calm. I tucked my little house of dreams away with other art, and said goodnight to it.

I still have my dreams. They’re there whenever I want to take them out… dust them off… ponder for a bit… But for now, just this moment, I’m not going to think about them. I’m going to focus on what’s right in front of me.

And enjoy it!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s in a Dream?

  1. Gina says:

    Very cool post! I used to use this practice with my children when they had bad dreams. I would get then to write it down(draw a picture when to young to write) and then burn it so the dream was “dealt with”. I love how you have used it to refocus 😀 XXX

  2. Jeanette says:

    Well said my friend!

Leave a Reply

