Paintover Collage

Ah! Made it through another LifeBook class.  I’m so behind already. Luckily, a friend emailed me this morning and said “Make sure you get in the studio today!” Thank you. I did!

Today’s class was a paintover collage – make a background collage, and paint over it. (yeah, I know…  that probably didn’t need an explanation.) I did something like this before with a portrait. I think I’ll keep doing it for practice though, because I think it helps me to keep facial features proportionate.

This was my beginning paper collage:

After I got the basic papers done, I began adding layers of watercolor and acrylic paints, along with a bit of drawing.

From there, I went more into the details and this was my final piece:

I’m not sure if I’ll add any more to it at the moment. I will probably leave it as is and start a new one when I get the urge to make something look different.

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

