Curvy Advice from Eve

Years ago, I bought this paper mache` bust. I was just starting out with mixed media and had no clue what I was doing, or even what I wanted to do. I painted her metallic pink, named her “Eve” (the beginning of things), and perched her up on a shelf with all intentions of making her into a masterpiece.

Hmmph!

It’s probably about 10 years later. Eve has followed me from one house to the next. She was given a new ‘resting place’, and sat quietly.. watching… waiting for it to be her turn! Well, finally, Eve’s wait is over.

A friend of mine (Hope Clinchot) posted a quote by Emerson the other day. It was good timing, as I was having a very, bad day. I think that’s what finally inspired me to finish Eve.  I knew I’d need a reminder of this in front of my face:

“Finish every day and be done with it.  You have done what you could. Some blunders and absurdities no doubt crept in, but forget them as soon as you can. Tomorrow is a new day; you shall begin it with serenity and with too high a spirit to be encumbered with your old nonsense.”

Have a wonderful today!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

