My Speed Journal

Finally! Some art room time and it was a fun day.

I’m a big fan of Pam Carriker ( http://pamcarriker.com/ ).  Although I’ve never taken any of her classes, I’ve watched bits and pieces of her art on youtube and it’s always inspiring.

Today, I created a double-sided background on a big piece of watercolor paper  (24×33″?) then tore it into pages and sewed it into a journal. The page bases are already done so I can just run with it.

I made sprays from watered down acrylic paint. It was really a pain in the butt using them, but I'm not sure if it was my cheap paint, or my cheap sprayers. Oh well. It's done!

This is what it looked like after spraying. I mottled some by squishing it around with a paper towel. Others, I added the paint the sprayed with additional water to allow it to drip.

I wrapped rubber bands around my brayer, then rolled it in paint and over the page here and there.

You can see the brayer marks in this one.

Next I took an old cardboard tube, dipped it in extremely watered down white paint, and 'stamped' it all over. Following that, it was time to just splatter white paint all over. THAT's fun!! I used a little stencil sponge to daub some contrast paint around, also.

After I made it into a book, this is a sample of one of the inside pages.

And this is the whole journal.

It was really fun. I think I’ll be making a few more!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Speed Journal

  1. Gina says:

    ooow! wonderful drippyness 😀 XXX

  2. Jeanette says:

    these look really fun…are you hand binding them? Are you going to sew a couple together? I love how you explain your processes.

Leave a Reply

