No Basket For My Egg

Inspired by a recent Somerset Studio theme of nests and eggs, I made this little piece last night. I think the hardest part was getting the strips of paper to lay flat (if you make one, the thinner, the better!), and the egg to sit straight.

I cut off a nail’s head and have it buried in both the block base and the bottom of the egg.  In the future, a little hole with the dremel, and a small dowel in both would work better.

I like it!

 

About ConnieArtz

'Always leave people better than you found them. Hug the hurt. Kiss the broken. Befriend the lost. Love the broken.'
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Basket For My Egg

  1. Gina says:

    So cool!!! 😀 XXX

  2. debi green says:

    I totally love this, would love to know your process!

    • connieartz says:

      It was SO easy, Debi! I cut up thin strips from an old dictionary, then used matte medium to glue them around the wooden egg. I used Stazon black to stamp the checkerboard and script images in the ‘blank’ spots between the paper strips.

      For the base, I glued music sheet collage paper around the outside edges. Then I added a bit of glue to the top and laid the feathers on.

      Finally, I took a small decorative nail, and put it about half way in the wood base in the center. I used a button shank cutter to remove the nail-head, the put the egg over it, and gently hammered it down so that it would hold. It’s not overly secure, so I’d suggest a wooden dowel instead of the nail.

      Have fun with it and thanks for the comment! 🙂

  3. Jeanette says:

    Adorable Connie…maybe easter themed decorations for your home?

Leave a comment