No Basket For My Egg

Inspired by a recent Somerset Studio theme of nests and eggs, I made this little piece last night. I think the hardest part was getting the strips of paper to lay flat (if you make one, the thinner, the better!), and the egg to sit straight.

I cut off a nail’s head and have it buried in both the block base and the bottom of the egg.  In the future, a little hole with the dremel, and a small dowel in both would work better.

I like it!

 

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to No Basket For My Egg

  1. Gina says:

    So cool!!! 😀 XXX

  2. debi green says:

    I totally love this, would love to know your process!

    • connieartz says:

      It was SO easy, Debi! I cut up thin strips from an old dictionary, then used matte medium to glue them around the wooden egg. I used Stazon black to stamp the checkerboard and script images in the ‘blank’ spots between the paper strips.

      For the base, I glued music sheet collage paper around the outside edges. Then I added a bit of glue to the top and laid the feathers on.

      Finally, I took a small decorative nail, and put it about half way in the wood base in the center. I used a button shank cutter to remove the nail-head, the put the egg over it, and gently hammered it down so that it would hold. It’s not overly secure, so I’d suggest a wooden dowel instead of the nail.

      Have fun with it and thanks for the comment! 🙂

  3. Jeanette says:

    Adorable Connie…maybe easter themed decorations for your home?

Leave a Reply

