Cookies and Color

Yesterday was a LONG day!!  My daughters like giving their friends gifts of cookies every year and since today is the last day before Christmas vacation I had to get them started.  I really made a ton of cookies and fudge – SEVEN batches!!

Only a few of the cookies.....

When my girls got home from school yesterday, there was still plenty to do, so I asked if they wanted to help make cookies (which WAS the plan.)  “Hmmm..Nope!” from the both of them.

Later that night, I went on Facebook and here’s my daughter’s status… telling her friends how she made allllll these different cookies for them and she was bringing them today. Hmmph!! Really?  No credit at all?? Not even that, but stealing my thunder??! LOL  Oh my…  I think there will be busy girls next year!

Cookie baggies

One of my girls decided to give individual bags of goodies – the other to put them all in a tin and let their friends dig through it.  Good luck with that. I wonder how it worked out.

On the art side, I was working on a background for my next art journal page. I have no plan yet, but I just love how the color jumped out at me!  Isn’t it warm?  Makes up for the chill in the air here for the past week. I can’t seem to get it out of my bones.

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cookies and Color

  1. Gina says:

    *Drool*
    And that background does look so warm and inviting..I’m seeing tropical fish around a coral reef 😀 XXX

  2. Marilyn Morrison says:

    Hey Connie… I love reading your posts. It seems like I am communicating with a friend now… I have a question. How do you keep your journal pages from curling when you put on all the different colors? When I have leftover paint on my brush, I slap it on a blank page in my journal. By the time it is ready to journal on, it is always curled…. can you give me a tip ? Marilyn

    • connieartz says:

      Thanks, Marilyn!

      Actually, my pages curl, too. I just close up my book when it’s dry and set something heavy on it. If you’re just leaving it open to dry, one thing you can do (if the page is blank on the other side) is lightly spritz the backside of your page with a mist of water. Having it damp on both sides at the same time keeps the paper from curling and it dries flat. I do that if I’m working on a flat project of some kind.

      Hope that help and thanks for the comment! 🙂

      Connie

Leave a Reply

