Yummy Jam Recipes

I had a few requests for recipes after yesterday’s post, so here you are. These are from a book called “Gifts from the Harvest” put out by Sure*Jell & Certo.  It was a free recipe book, so I’m hoping it’s not a big deal to share them 🙂

HOLIDAY FRUIT & NUT JAM

Mix together in a large cooking pan:

  • 1 cup chopped dried apricots
  • 1/2 cup chopped pitted dates
  • 1 – 8oz can crushed pineapple in juice
  • 1/2 cup chopped maraschino cherries
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon butter or margarine

Mix all together well, and bring to a boil stirring constantly. Add ONE POUCH Certo fuit pectin (I used Sure Jell in all mine) and boil one more minute exactly – stirring constantly.

Remove from heat. Ladle into prepared jars, filling to 1/8″ of the top. Cover with lids. Invert for 5 minutes then turn upright and allow to cool. Check seals.

*FYI* I change the recipe up a bit… used dried cherries instead of maraschino, walnuts instead of pecans, currants instead of raisins. My point is, use what you have on hand and it should still work as long as you measure correctly.

SPICED PUMPKIN PECAN BUTTER

Mix together in a large cooking pan:

  • 3-1/2 cups canned pumpkin (NOT pie filling)
  • 1 cup toasted chopped pecans
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 5-1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon margarine or butter

Mix all together well, and bring to a boil stirring constantly. Add ONE POUCH Certo fuit pectin (I used Sure Jell in all mine) and boil one more minute exactly – stirring constantly.

Remove from heat. Ladle into prepared jars, filling to 1/8″ of the top. Cover with lids. Invert for 5 minutes then turn upright and allow to cool. Check seals.

My pepper jelly didn’t work. It tastes great, but it didn’t set up. I’m going to try making a second batch before I post the recipe that I used. If it doesn’t come out right, I don’t want to share it.

Wish me luck and happy eats!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in FOOD. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yummy Jam Recipes

  1. Marilyn Morrison says:

    Thanks Connie…I am on my way to the grocery store next .

Leave a Reply

