What’s On the Table Today?

Every once in a while, I hit a little bump in the art road. This weekend seems to be one.

Remember how I saw I usually fly by the seat of my pants? No plan in mind.. just start slapping on the paint and see what comes out? Things really do work best for me that way!

I started on someone else’s altered book this weekend. Her theme is “Suspense”… Sherlock Holmes… mystery… you get the idea.  Well, unlike usual, I got this whole image in my mind of what I wanted…

I decided on a page about Irene Adler, Sherlock Holmes’ elusive love. I found a great quote from 1892’s Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, and thought to build the page around it. I planned to draw/paint very mysterious eyes across the spread, lace of some sort covering the lower part of the face, and use the quotes around the edges.

Hmmph!!  I was not happy at all with how it was beginning. I suppose I could’ve kept going to see what would happen as it progressed, but I’m also impatient.  So, here’s where I’m at now on the same pages:

Not even close to where I started, but I’m liking the dark (and this image that I found) much better than where it was. I have much more to do with this and will post the finished layout in the next day or two – if it cooperates!

Enjoy your week~

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s On the Table Today?

  1. Gina says:

    Love the new page….her eyes are just stunning, can’t wait to see the finished piece 😀 XXX

Leave a Reply

