The Artist Enabler

People use the word “enabler” like it’s a bad thing. I suppose my wallet may consider some of my art enabler friends a bit of a bad influence, but they’re so much fun!

Lately, I’ve been able to be the art enabler with my 13-year old daughter, and I have to admit I love it! After seeing one of the art journaling books I borrowed from the library, she decided she wanted to keep an art journal, too. She chose a spiral-bound blank book and she’s started completely from scratch – including arting her own cover.

My daughter has been working with two books side-by-side. One is a print book (altered book) so she can try different techniques in it, and the other is her blank journal. Today, we were trying a couple different things with paint and ended up arting ourselves.

I truly loved having my daughter share one of my passions! I hope she’ll find many hours of enjoyment from it in the future 🙂

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Artist Enabler

  1. Debi Green says:

    What a great “vice” to share, I love arting with my grandkids. In fact recently at a family gathering my 14 year old grandaughter was listening to all the stories about my younger wild days, she sat very quietly, laughing and asking few questions. A bit later she came up to me and quietly said, “Nana, I didn’t know you were so wild, I thought you sat around when you were younger doing art like you do now!” I hope she isn’t scarred for life by her new found knowledge, lol.

  2. jan b. says:

    I call this “Pigmentitus” … a word I developed for a dictionary project several years ago. You can read the definition on my flickr photos here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/94823471@N00/sets/72157627399453363/

  3. Jeanette says:

    True happiness Connie!

  4. Heather McMurray says:

    Every time I look at your new posts and images, I am filled with awe.

    So many “speak” to me in different ways. I wish I had even a sliver of your creativity.

Leave a Reply

