The World Goes Round

…and I find a little time for art!

What’s going on in my studio these days? Well, it is Summer vacation, and unfortunately, it seems my art creations took a little hit. That’s ok! I’ll get the swing of this soon.

I made these fun hanging ornaments awhile back. I used Jenga pieces for the base, painting them first, then found that microscope slide images fit perfectly. Woo hoo!!! What a time saver. I covered the fronts with a thick coat of Diamond Glaze, and used eye hooks on the top to tie the ribbon onto. I think I’ll hang these on my fake tree in the house, or maybe at my kitchen window in the sunshine.

I also tried an old, well-known technique that I hadn’t done before. Plastic wrap backgrounds.  You put a thick coat of paint on your page, then cover it with a piece of plastic wrap – not being careful for straightness – you want it wrinkly.  Then, just let it almost dry — maybe a couple hours.

Then, lift off the plastic wrap and allow the background to finish drying. This is what you’ll come up with:

Seriously! Aren’t these cool?  I’m thinking the dark one will look awesome with white gel pen journaling.  We’ll see.

And what have YOU been arting?

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

