Going Gothic

When I began joining art groups online years back, I turned into a swap addict. I joined and hosted so many swaps it was ridiculous. I loved the creating part… I loved getting packages in the mail filled with wonderful tidbits made by people I’d never meet… The things I didn’t like were that sometimes swaps could become drama fertilizer, and that after a time, I would end up with all these ‘things’ with the question of “What do I do with them, now?”

I haven’t done an art swap in forever. I think that’s a lot of what slowed down my creativity over the past year or more. Swaps challenge you. Someone gives you a topic, a color, a technique, etc., and you have to make whatever it is using the guidelines. It forces you to be out of your normal circle – and I like it!

I joined an art swap about a week ago. It was small – just create two gothic arches to trade. No template. No measurements. No ‘rules’… just make them – and we’ll swap them. Cool!! I had fun making mine.

I also offered to fill in for an Altered Book Round Robin if needed – and I’m needed! I’m already looking forward to it. Already excited about being challenged to create for other people in a theme of their choosing – and, about having this be ongoing for a few months ahead. Wonderful!!!!

I’ve considered my art-a-day challenge. The intent was to create each day – and I have been. I wonder now if I want to continue with the 4×4 collages along with whatever else I do, or just skip it if I create something else that day. I guess for now, I’m going to wing it. The one thing I don’t want to do is to make my personal daily art challenge into a chore rather than something I enjoy. Counter productive, don’t you think?

I guess you’ll have to follow along with me and find out what wins…  Have an artful day!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Going Gothic

  1. Karen Owen says:

    Connie, I totally agree with you. I need some of these art swaps and challenges to keep my creative juices flowing. A couple of years ago, I thought I had had enough and wanted time to go “my own direction”. Basically I just stopped creating. Once I joined in again, the creativity returned.

Leave a Reply

