Grids, Flowers, and German Pancake – Busy Day!

I think I have Spring fever!

You can never count on what the weather is going to be around here. This morning, I got up, sent the kids off to school, then went out for a morning walk – in the rain. Of course, an hour later, the sun came out and it was nice all day! I’ll take it.

The beautiful day put me in the mood to play.  First off, yesterday’s art piece. I went back to an old “grid technique”. I have done them in awhile, but they’re fun.

She Felt Blue

As far as today went, I dug out the watercolor paints. I wish I remembered what they’re called at the moment. They’re little tiny jars of very sparkly color. I hardly ever use them, and their reflective qualities always amaze me.

Coneflowers

At the end of the day, I decided to make a treat for the kids when they got home from school. It’s easy and delicious.

GERMAN PANCAKE:

Place a cast iron skillet in the oven. Heat the oven to 425.  When hot, add 2Tbls. butter to the pan and allow it to melt.

Mix the following together in a blender:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 Tbls. sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. salt

Swirl the melted butter around in the pan, then add the blended ingredients.

Bake for 15 minutes until golden brown and puffed. It will look like this:

wow! Doesn't this look so cool???

Immediately top with confectioners sugar and serve. We like it with raspberry jam, and a little whipped cream.  I plan to try it another time by skipping the sugar and adding green onion and feta cheese. Hmmm! That sounds interesting, doesn’t it?

Bon’ appetite!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in FOOD, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

