Sisters

They say time goes by quickly. I’m sure those words have come out of everyone’s mouth at some point or other. Still, I’m not sure we really ‘get it’ unless there’s an awakening of sorts – a significant event… special birthday…. a lifetime moment… or someone’s passing.

I have three children – ages 12, 13, and 15. Yes, I know they grow quickly.

Last night, I had the strangest dream. My family and I were headed for the mountains. We arrived and I headed up the path to the lodge where they were having a type of sleigh ride thing through the woods. As I sat waiting, in the door comes my husband with our two girls. Although they are 12 and 13, they looked just like when they were 3 and 4 – long hair..  braids… pigtails… little baby teeth… My husband took turns swinging them into the air as the girls laughed and laughed and laughed… uncontrollably.

The dream was so crisp and clear seeing them exactly as I remember them at those ages. It was wonderful! But I knew they were really their actual teenage selves, even though I could still see them as ‘my little girls’.

Sisters

There’s something about growing up as sisters. A wonderful bond that I hope my two ‘little girls’ will share forever.

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sisters

  1. Amy McDonald says:

    I have teenagers too. We always say, “omigod, that was so long ago – it seems like it just happened…”. Also we all say “oh remember how cute he was when he was a baby….remember when he did such and such thing…”
    Now that I think about it, I act like they haven’t done anything great between now and then, and
    that’s not true.
    *sigh*
    I gotta go spend some time with my spawn…
    Xx,
    Amy
    p.s. I Swear To God I am going to do some Suzi Blu stuff tomorrow.
    I AM.

Leave a Reply

