Is it Spring?

We’re on a winter storm warning here.  Ninety percent of the schools closed before 6am. Everyone has stocked up. Oh.. wait… did I mention it’s about 2pm now, and it’s 37 degrees? Clear roads? Yep! Wrong again.

I’ve decided to declare it Spring today at my house. I know I’m not the only one who’s ready for it. Any day now would suit me just fine, thank you.

Spring Pickin's

Miniature pansies are a favorite of mine. I planted some once at my old house thinking they were annuals. Surprising to me, those fragile looking blooms were pretty tough! They peeked through the periodic snow with their smile-like faces, just daring Spring to come, and bloomed year ’round.

It’s Spring cooking tonight, too. Oven ‘fried’ chicken, potato salad, a special coleslaw (see below), and blueberry pie. Yes. I dare Spring to come, too!

Connie's Spring Coleslaw

I didn’t want to have a mayo based dressing on potato salad, and the coleslaw, too, so I made up a new recipe today and it’s so yummy I had to share it with you!

  • 1/2 Head of cabbage finely shredded
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and shredded
  • 1/3 cup currants (Substitute raisins or dried cranberries if you wish)
  • 1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds

Mix all the above in a large bowl.  Sprinkle with 1-1/2 tablespoons of sugar. Pour over Giana Parmesan Garlic Vinegarette (available at Target), only enough to moisten, and mix all together well.  Refrigerate for at least an hour to mingle the flavors and you’re done!

Good arting, and good eating~

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in FOOD, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

