Comfort Quilts

It’s snowing like crazy here today – which is unusual for the Seattle area.

My cocker spaniel has camped out in front of the patio door leading to the backyard all day. We have three birdfeeders out there. The birds have been swarming from across the pasture and taking turns at the back fence fighting over who gets to be on the perches and who has to wait in line. It’s driving the dog nuts!

I decided to try out a new crock pot recipe. It’s perfect for a winter dinner; Pork Stew with Cornbread Dumplings. It’s full of winter veggies and cooked in beer, tomatoes, and lots of good herbs and spices. It smells so good in here right now!

Ok. Getting to the reason you come by. Art! I did another quilt background today, but as I post it, I realize I didn’t share the secrets to making these easy backgrounds.

Quilt Paper

You can use a mish-mash of paper scraps, and trust me, it’s gorgeous when you do! Today, I just chose two paper scraps and one of my ink backgrounds and cut them all into strips. Don’t even think about gluing those pieces on one at a time. Seriously?! Just put glue all over your background page then add on the strips till it’s full. Trim the edges, and you’re done. Easy-squeezy.

You are My Sunshine

I edged today’s piece with Butterscotch ink to give it an aged look. Hope you like!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Comfort Quilts

  1. Great, keep the snow up there….they say it will be in Oregon tomorrow, good excuse to stay home and “play with paper” I’m thinkin’. Love that background idea, going to give it a shot tonight.

  2. Jeanette says:

    Beautiful Connie…I love your daily enthusiasm!

Leave a Reply

