Color Me a Rainbow

What a beautiful day! The sun is shining, and I promised color today, so color it is!

Have you ever seen Traci Bautista’s colorful art? She’s a master at creating gorgeous backgrounds. You can do a search on YouTube for her and she has a few videos showing some of her techniques. (Consider that my fun tip of the day!)

I was determined to get away from my current, bland, oatmeal color today, so off to the studio I went to play with some long lost techniques I haven’t used in awhile.

I keep disposable condiment cups on hand in my studio all the time. They’re deffinately a must have! You can find them at restaurant supply stores everywhere. For today, I chose three colors of Adriondak inks (my favorites). I put maybe 2 tablespoons of water in each cup, then 2-3 drops of ink and mixed it up with a popscicle stick.

For these watercolor papers, I spritzed them with water, then used a large paintbrush to add blobs of wet ink to the page. When I finished, I wasn’t thrilled with the color I had, so I spritzed the papers once or twice with an Adriondak color was spray.  NOW I was happy.

Paper Towels

While I had the leftover, watery ink in the cups, I crunched up some paper toweling and dipped them here and there. These are laid out to dry at the moment.  When they’re done drying, I’ll peel the two layers apart, stamp with miscellaneous designs, and they will become background paper for future projects.

After the watercolor paper dried, I quickly added spray webbing in black and gold (available at craft and hardware/paint stores) over the tops. I love, love, love spray webbing!! I swear it makes everything ‘pop’ from the background.  If you haven’t tried it, you have to. Trust me!

Are you ready for the final piece of the day??

This is Lily – Fairie of Winged Things.  I have to share that the critics in my home this morning found her quite appealing.

Music to my ears!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Videos. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Color Me a Rainbow

  1. Titi Maria says:

    This is absolutely beautiful!! Thanks so much for the tips!

  2. Cattrix says:

    These are so pretty!

Leave a Reply

