Blue Skies and Cordials

It’s a beautiful day!

I seem to be stuck on blues and pinks lately. I’m not sure why, but I’m sure like everything else, color choices go in waves. This seems to be my direction for the time being.

Feb 8

Back to art and food. My friend, Linda, shared a homemade cordial with me as a gift last year. I’m not much of a drinker, but I have to say it was wonderful! I decided to try making some myself.

After a bit of prodding, Linda shared a recipe with me. My sister also shared a recipe with me, saying the one I had wouldn’t work. Then I went to the trusty internet and found a few more recipies – each one seeming to contradict the previous one. What’s a girl to do? Make lots of cordial and try them all!

The hardest part of making cordials is the waiting. It takes a good 6 weeks or longer.

Simple Cordial Supplies

Making cordials is really simple. All you need is clean containers to hold the cordial mixture, fruit, sugar, and alcohol.  My friend uses whiskey in her cordials. My sister, and most internet recipes, use vodka. I tried both of those, plus one of my own!

  1. Measure out your fruit (4 cups) and add it to a clean jar.
  2. Add the desired amount of sugar (2 cups)
  3. Add the desired alcohol (2 to 3 cups)

Cherry Cordial made with Jack Daniels

At that point, you just close up the jar and shake it up really well. The sugar disolves over time, so don’t get too worried. Store the jars in a cool, dark place in your house, (not a refridgerator) and shake them up every few days for the next couple months.

I made cherry with Jack Daniels, raspberry with ‘regular’ vodka, and raspberry with Whipped Creme flavored vodka.  I also adjusted the sugar amounts on each one – some more, some less – to test it out.  Don’t forget to attach a tag to the jar so you know what you put in it, and what date you began making it.

All the pretty little bottles!

Use a spoon to taste the cordial before deciding to bottle it up. When you’re ready, lay a double layer of cheesecloth inside a strainer over a bowl. Pour the cordial through the cloth to remove the fruit remnants and add the cordial to decorative bottles. 

The cordial makes great gifts. It’s wonderful on its own, or drizzled over icecream or cheesecake.  Try it for yourself!

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in FOOD. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

