Happy Accidents

Today hasn’t gone as planned from the moment I hoped to crawl out of bed. Before I even had the chance to slip out from under the covers, I was joined by a thirteen year old complaining of a stomach ache. No fever. Late night. I was fairly certain it was a case of ‘I-don’t-want-to-go-to-school-itus’. Nasty illness, at that.

My intent of heading to the gym after the bus arrived was traded for early morning time in the studio.

Feb 2

I had a happy accident while creating today’s collage. I did the background, put together what I wanted on the images, and then put the photo and wings through my Xyron to put adhesive on them. Unfortuantely, I was still half asleep and I put the wings through upside-down so the adhesive was on the front.

I remember years back going through a glitter phase (no laughing, thank you) and I had done the top adhesive on purpose. I searched high and low, but not a sparkle of glitter to be found anywhere. Finally, while digging through my polymer clay supplies, I found ‘moon dust’. Moon dust is this awesome pigmented, crushed mica powder. It shimmers in a much more subtle way than glitter, and seems to change colors as it moves in the light. I used a soft paintbrush to blend a bit of the dust on top of the sticky wings. Result? No more sticky adhesive, and it left the wings looking magical! I wish it showed better in my pictures.

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy Accidents

  1. Elaine Akers says:

    I am enjoying your postings on your blog.

Leave a Reply

