Rabbit Rabbit

February first. I wonder if you get the title today.

I always say that February is the month for great weather in western Washington. Ever since I’ve lived here, I remember at least a week during this winter month that every one is running around outside in shorts and tank tops while working on the landscaping. There’s been more than one occasion that I’ve planted Spring flowers only to have them buried in snow two days later!

Today is one of those teaser days. Don’t get me wrong – it’s only 47 degrees out – but the sun is shining enough to make you shield your eyes and it’s gorgeous! I spent most of my day with a friend I haven’t seen for awhile. We sat outside in the sun in front of this huge fireplace drinking dark chocolate hot cocoa and telling stories from growing up on farms at opposite ends of the country. It was an awesome time!

Before I headed out on my road trip this morning, I made my art piece for the day:

February 1 - The Siren

One of the fun things I liked about this collage is that I didn’t use any background paper. Seriously, I MADE that!! Yes, I’m very happy with myself at the moment. Actually, I love Tim Holtz papers. I picked out a favorite this morning and decided I needed to see if I could figure out how to make a similar style with the materials I had. A bit of acrylic paint, stamped images, and gesso scraped on with an old credit card later, and I could color myself happy! I may have to do that again.

Have an artistic and prosperous month~

About connieartz

"Your sacred space is where you can find yourself again and again". Joseph Campell
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rabbit Rabbit

  1. linda says:

    Ahhh, it was glorious wasn’t it. But this time of year is always just a bit of a tease. Thanks for sending me the link–I subscibed to your feed (I think I did it right?! LOL). Always adore your stuff (and what–no nekkid women?)

  2. It was Chinese New Year and it’s now the year of the Rabbit! My nickname has forever been Wabbit or Bunny or SnowBunny and I was born in the year of the rabbit. So I’m hoping for a great year.

    I hope you have a great year too!
    Marilyn
    aka WabbitCO

  3. Thinkie says:

    Happy year of the rabbit, our bunny Aafje expects to be spiled even more this year 😉
    Good luck with your blog, and most of all: have fun with it!

Leave a Reply

